Texas Auto Insurance

Whether you live in Austin, Houston, San Antonio or Amarillo, Elephant Insurance has you covered. Elephant offers low cost auto insurance coverages and many other products to Texas drivers. Get an auto insurance quote online or call one of our licensed agents at 1-877-21-TRUNK.

We've provided some information below that we hope will be helpful in answering some of your questions about car insurance in Texas.

  • Texas Car Insurance Coverages

    Texas auto insurance coverage requirements can be different from other states. Your policy must meet the following minimum limits of liability:

  • Bodily Injury

    • $30,000 for the death or injury of any one person, any one accident
    • $60,000 for all persons in any one accident
  • Property Damage

    • $25,000 for any one accident
  • This basic coverage is often referred to as 30/60/25 coverage and is required by all drivers in Texas. However, with car insurance, the more coverage you have, the less it will cost you out of pocket if you get in an accident.

    For more information on how to select the right level of coverage for you visit our Car Insurance Coverages FAQ page

  • Other Questions about Driving in Texas?

    Visit the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles website for information on registering your car, driver's licenses, and SR22s.

  • Get a Free Auto Insurance Quote for Texas

    You can get a Texas car insurance quote online or call us at 1-877-21-TRUNK. From paying your bill, to making changes to cars or drivers on your policy, to reporting a claim – Elephant is available 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

  • Fee Schedule FAQs

    What if my payment is attempted and it fails?

    Unfortunately, since we may incur fees for declined payments, Elephant charges a $25.00 NSF Fee (Insufficient Funds Fee) whenever an automatic payment attempt is declined.

    A $10.00 Late Fee may also be charged if payment is not received by the close of business the day after your due date.

    What if I know that I will not have enough money in my account?

    Customers may contact Elephant at 1-877-21-TRUNK and request that their payment not be attempted. However, to cover bank costs, Elephant may charge certain administrative fees, including:

    A $25.00 Insufficient Funds fee
    A $10.00 Late Fee (charged two (2) days after your due date)

    To make sure that every request can be entered correctly into our Billing system, we ask that customers call in at least 3 days before their due date. Any request made less than three days prior to your due date will be entered into our queue, but we cannot guarantee that your balance due will not be attempted.

    Once your due date has passed, you will receive a notice in the mail explaining the full past-due balance, and will need to call payment into our office or mail in a check to keep your policy active.

    If I make partial payments before my due date, will I be charged multiple installment fees?

    NO! Installment fees are charged on a per installment basis. So, if you have ten (10) installments to pay over the course of your twelve (12) month policy, you will be assessed ten (10) installment fees.

    The actual amount of the fee will vary based upon your pay plan.

    See the Fee Schedule Chart below.

    When is my installment fee applied to my account?

    Installment fees are applied on a monthly basis, either when your account is billed, or when you make your monthly payment.

    What is an "NSF" Fee? When could it be applied to my account?

    A NSF fee is an "Insufficient Funds" fee. This fee is only applied if the payment method you have on file is declined by your bank or credit card company for insufficient funds. When this happens, a fee of $25.00 is immediately applied to the account.

    When can a late fee be applied to my account?

    Late Fees are only applied if a customer misses their payment due date – they apply to all policies with the exception of the "Paid in Full" option.

    All late fees are applied two (2) days after the payment due date. So, if you make your payment the day after your due date, there will be no late fee! If not, a $10.00 fee will be applied to your account.

    What is a reinstatement fee?

    This is a $10.00 fee that is applied to your account for reinstatements related to non-pay cancellations. For example, if you miss your payment due date, and cannot pay before the cancellation date on your non-pay cancellation notice, a $10.00 fee will be applied to your account if and only if you decide to reinstate your policy. Elephant will never charge you a reinstatement fee if your policy has been cancelled in error.

    What is a SR-22 fee?

    This fee is when submission of an SR-22 is requested by the policyholder. According to the Safety Responsibility or Evidence of Financial Responsibility law, persons whose driving privilege has been suspended or revoked for an accident, conviction or judgment, are required to file and maintain a Form SR-22 with the Department of Public Safety. If you feel that you may be required to file an SR-22, contact the Department of Public Safety for further clarification.

    Fee Schedule Chart

    Fee Category Fee Name Amount When incurred or applied Other Important Information about this Fee Pay Plans Exempt from this Fee
    Billing Fee Installment Fee $5 Incurred on a per installment basis for select pay plans Paid in Full
    Late Fee $10 Applied 2 days after a payment has not been satisfied Paid in Full
    Reinstatement Fee $10 Applied to the account in the event of a reinstatement This fee applies only to customer-requested reinstatements Paid in Full
    NSF Fee $25 Applied immediately after a payment is attempted and fails Paid in Full
    Recurring to Non-Recurring Pay Plan Change $10 Applied during policy amendment for pay plan change Paid in Full
    Referral to Debt Collection Agency $20 Incurred when debt is forwarded to Collections
    Policy Fee Financial Responsibility Form SR-22 $75 Applied when submission of Financial Responsibility Form is requested If you feel that you may be liable to pay this fee, please contact DMV for verification.
    Automobile Theft Prevention Authority Fee $2 per vehicle Applied to all vehicles upon policy issuance